top of page

New Rule For FL Drivers

Florida's "Move Over" law — HB 425 — is being expanded, with the new additions going into effect Jan. 1st of this year (2024). The new law deals with what drivers should do when encountering disabled vehicles on the side of the road, not just emergency vehicles.


In addition to previous requirements, motorists need to move over if:

  • There is a disabled motor vehicle that is stopped and displaying warning lights or hazard lights.

  • If a vehicle is stopped and is using emergency flares or posting emergency signage.

  • When a vehicle is stopped and one or more persons are visibly present.


Previously, Florida law required motorists to move over a lane — when they can safely do so — for stopped law enforcement, emergency, sanitation, utility service vehicles, tow trucks or wreckers, and maintenance or construction vehicles with displayed warning lights without advanced signs or channelizing devices or disabled motor vehicles.

If you can't move over, or if you're on a two-lane road, motorists should:

  • Slow to a speed 20 mph less than the posted speed limit.

  • Slow down to 5 mph if the posted speed limit is 20 mph or less.

Violating the Move Over law will result in a fine, fees, and points on your driving record, according Florida Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles.



126 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments

Couldn’t Load Comments
It looks like there was a technical problem. Try reconnecting or refreshing the page.
  • TikTok
  • Twitter
  • Instagram
  • Facebook
  • YouTube
bottom of page